top of page
IMG_0329.JPG

Playing with Paul Gilbert at The IGf 2005

Updated: Nov 21, 2022


I had a fantastic time preparing and Performing with Paul and drummer Pete Riley for this concert at the International Guitar festival Bath UK back in 2005. I'd had some experience as a clinician and backing musician with various artists at the festival in previous years but working with Paul took my playing and learning experience to the next level.


I once spent months learning a set of tunes which included "Scarified "and "Jack hammer".I'd tried explaining to the festival organiser Phil Castang that this was beyond my pay grade but he seemed to think that I'd be able to cope with the musical onslaught.


After the initial learning process and a change of several pairs of under pants, the dreaded day arrived, When PG got to the gig he pulled out a set list that looked a bit Saturday night pub band.( I can only assume he thought that he would be working with a local UK rhythm section on this occasion myself and Pete Riley, and that it might be best to play it safe on the gig.





We were both a little dissapointed having spent 4 months learning his tunes and we ( as a rhythm section) kind of coerced him into playing the more difficult pieces) I'm glad we did !! I'm not sure if he felt the same though ,but one can dream right ?


(The bass is quite low in the mix but the drums and guitar are quite frankly staggering)



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media

Anybody come across or used this social media site if so what are your experiences 🙏🏽👍🏽 https://joinmastodon.org

Opmerkingen


bottom of page